Skip to main content

Background Image for Header:

  • Home
  • Sponsored Research

Sponsored Research

WVU researchers' current projects encompassing opioid prevention, addiction, and recovery with focuses on the rural communities of West Virginia spanning all age ranges.

Projects on this page have been populated by researchers using this questionnaire to self report their research efforts. If you have a Sponsored Award please send us the information via the questionnaire above and we will be sure to add it.


Search by Type

DOJ NIDA NIH NSF Additional Partners

Department of Justice

DOJ Sponsored Research Projects
Title WVU PI/Co-I Email
Structural Characterization of Emerging Synthetic Drugs Jackson, Glen P. glen.jackson@mail.wvu.edu 
Utilizing Artificial Intelligence Technologies to Link Darknet and Surface Net to Combat Opioid Trafficking Li, Xin
xinli@mail.wvu.edu

↑ Back to Top

National Institute on Drug Abuse

NIDA Sponsored Research Projects
Title WVU PI/Co-I
Email
Rural West Virginia Responds to Opioid Injection Epidemics: From Data to Action Feinberg, Judith
Smith, Gordon Stephen
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu
gordon.smith@hsc.wvu.edu
Off-label use of rapid response fentanyl test strips as an opioid overdose prevention strategy Zibbell
Feinberg, Judith

NIDA Clinical Trials Network – Appalachian Node Feinberg, Judith
Leibschutz, Jane
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu
liebschutzjm@upmc.edu
NIDA Clinical Trials Network: Ohio Valley Node Winhusen, Theresa
Feinberg, Judith
winhust@ucmail.uc.edu
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

↑ Back to Top

National Institutes of Health

NIH Sponsored Research Projects
Title WVU PI/Co-I Email
AIDS Clinical Trials Group Lederman, Michael
Feinberg, Judith
mxl6@case.edu
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

IRC Influenza Network Feinberg, Judith judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Feasibility of Deep Brain Stimulation as a Novel Treatment for Refractory Opioid Use Disorder

Rezai, Ali

ali.rezai@hsc.wvu.edu

Drugs and Driving: Developing a Sentinel Drug FARS for Research

Smith, Gordon

gordon.smith@hsc.wvu.edu

Rural West Virginia Responds to Opioid Injection Epidemics: From Data to Action

Feinberg, Judith

judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Rural Community Insights to Inform Opioid Epidemic Prevention Strategies

Hodder, Sally

slhodder@hsc.wvu.edu

Opioid Addiction Recovery Augmentation: Physiologically-Based Interventions

Hodder, Sally

slhodder@hsc.wvu.edu

↑ Back to Top

National Science Foundation

NSF Sponsored Research Projects
Title WVU PI/Co-I Email
Mining Heterogeneous Network Built from Multiple Data Sources to Reduce Opioid Overdose Risks Winstanley, Erin
erin.winstanley@hsc.wvu.edu

↑ Back to Top

Additional Partners

Sponsored Research Projects from various partners
Funding Agency Title WVU PI/Co-I Email
Appalachian Regional Commission Strengthening substance abuse recovery ecosystems to provide a healthy and ready workforce Jones
Feinberg, Judith

Office of National Drug Control Policy WV PEERS (Enhancing Education, Recovery, and Survival) Feinberg, Judith judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Centers for Disease Control via WV DHHR-Bureau for Public Health Expanding Overdose Aftercare and Peer Recovery Services in Vulnerable WV Counties Linn
Feinberg, Judith
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention WV Prevention Research Center Dino, Geri gdino@hsc.wvu.edu
Gilead Sciences Evaluation of the Natural History and Vertical Transmission of Chronic Hepatitis C Virus Infection in Pregnancy with Targeted Elimination by Postpartum Treatment Cafardi, John
Feinberg, Judith
john.carfardi@thechristhospital.com
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Gilead Sciences Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis to Prevent HIV Acquisition in US Women: A Demonstration Project Swaminathan, Shobha
Feinberg, Judith
swaminsh@njms.rutgers.edu
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

PCORI HEPC Patient-Centered Models of HCV Care for People Who Inject Drugs Litwin, Alain
Feinberg, Judith
alain.litwin@prismahealth.org
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu
R.F. Durr Foundation An Interprofessional Continuing Education Program in Opioid Addiction Feinberg, Judith judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Ohio Department of Emergency Medical Services Nasal Naloxone for Narcotic Overdose (N3OD) Winstanley, Erin
Feinberg, Judith
erin.winstanley@hsc.wvu.edu
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services Reducing Fatal Opioid Overdoses in Ohio Sperber, Kimberly kimberly.sperber@talberthouse.org
Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services Factors Influencing Opioid Overdose Prevention Practices in Ohio Substance Abuse and Community Corrections Programs Sperber, Kimberly kimberly.sperber@talberthouse.org
Ohio Department of Health Project DAWN Hamilton County Feinberg, Judith judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Interact For Health Cincinnati Exchange Project: A Public Health Initiative Feinberg judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Janssen Foundation Cincinnati Exchange Project: A Public Health Initiative Feinberg, Judith judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

NIGMS West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute Hodder, Sally
Feinberg, Judith
slhodder@hsc.wvu.edu
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

MAC Foundation Cincinnati Exchange Project: A Public Health Initiative  Feinberg, Judith judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

No external funding Assessment of HIV and Hepatitis C Risk, Prevention and Treatment Among People Who Inject Drugs (PWID) in West Virginia and North Carolina Menza
Feinberg, Judith
judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources Role Enhanced Surveillance of Opioid Involved Morbidity and Mortality

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services/WV Bureau of Behavioral Health and Health Facilities Role Prescription Drug Overdose Grant Site PI
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention/WV Department of Health and Human Resources Role Emergency Department Screening, Treatment, and Referral Strategies for Five Northern West Virginia Counties

WV DHHR-BHHF
Office of Behavioral Health Services
West Virginia Bureau for Behavioral Health State Opioid Response Grant Prescriber/Provider Training, Education, and Development Implementation

Lemon, Kelly kelly.lemon@hsc.wvu.edu 


West Virginia Bureau for Behavioral Health State Opioid Response Grant Prescriber/Provider Training, Education, and Development Implementation Strengthening Training for Addiction and Recovery Morrow, D.F.
Gamble, J.
deana.morrow@mail.wvu.edu
jenifer.gamble@mail.wvu.edu

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)


Addiction Technology Transfer Centers (ATTCs)

Winstanley, Erin

erin.winstanley@hsc.wvu.edu

Patient Centered Evaluation of HCV Care of PWID

Feinberg, Judith

judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu


West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources with SAMHSA

West Virginia Bureau for Behavioral Health State Opioid Response Grant Prescriber/Provider Training, Education, and Development Implementation

Dichiaccio, Toni
Elswick, Daniel
Gamble, Jenifer
Glenn, Margaret
Lemon, Kelly
Mason, Jay
McNeil, Cheryl
Moran, Garrett
Morrow, Deana
Schrader, Carl
Scott, Ginger
Swisher, Anne
Tack, Frankie
tdichiac@hsc.wvu.edu
delswick@hsc.wvu.edu
jenifer.gamble@mail.wvu.edu
margaret.glenn@mail.wvu.edu
kelly.lemon@hsc.wvu.edu
jdmason@hsc.wvu.edu
cmcneil@wvu.edu
garrett.moran@hsc.wvu.edu
deana.morrow@mail.wvu.edu
schraderc@wvumedicine.org
vscott@hsc.wvu.edu
aswisher@hsc.wvu.edu
frankie.tack@mail.wvu.edu
WV Higher Education Policy Council
West Virginia Behavioral Health Workforce Initiative Morrow, Deana (PI)
Gamble, Jennifer (CO-PI)
Englehardt, Jacki (CO-PI)
deana.morrow@mail.wvu.edu
jenifer.gamble@mail.wvu.edu
jacki.englehardt@mail.wvu.edu

Appalachian Training Program in Preventive Medicine: WVHEPC Matching Funds

Martin, Christopher

cmartin@hsc.wvu.edu

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Intensive Technical Assistance to Improve Overdose Prevention in Ohio Winstanley, Erin   erin.winstanley@hsc.wvu.edu

A Longitudinal Assessment of Neurocognition as a Function of Opioid Abstinence and Potential Moderating Factors Impacting Treatment Outcomes in Individuals with Opioid Use Disorder.

Mahoney, James

james.mahoney@hsc.wvu.edu


West Virginia Addiction Intervention Model (WV AIM):  Use of Telebehavioral Health Networks for Rural Substance Abuse Treatment in Adults and Adolescents

Law, Kari

klaw@hsc.wvu.edu


Rational Drug Therapy Program

Madhavan, Sundareswaran

smadhavan@hsc.wvu.edu


Improving Nursing Scholarship, Practice, Innovation, Research, & Education to Care for West Virginia (INSPIRE to Care for WV)

Dichiacchio, Toni

tdichiac@hsc.wvu.edu



Strategic Planning for Garrett County Opioid Intervention FY19

Bias, Thomas

tbias@hsc.wvu.edu


State Targeted Response to the Opioid Crisis Grants

Haut, Marc

mhaut@hsc.wvu.edu

WV DHHR-BHHF-Office of Behavioral Health Services and US DHHS-SAMSHA-Center for Substance Abuse Prevention West Virginia Bureau for Behavioral Health, State Opioid Response Grant Prescriber/Provider Training, Education, and Development Implementation Moran, Garrett garrett.moran@hsc.wvu.edu 
WV DHHR-Department of Health & Human Resources and US DHHS-Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Medicaid Opioid Use Disorder Treatment Outcomes and Recovery (MOTOR) Study Bossarte, Rob rbossarte@hsc.wvu.edu
WV DHHR Department of Health & Human Resources ED Screening, Treatment and Referral Strategies for Five Northern West Virginia Counties Linn, Herb hlinn2@hsc.wvu.edu 

↑ Back to Top

Closed Projects