Skip to main content

Background Image for Header:

Researchers

WVU researchers leading the way in the fight against substance use and abuse in West Virginia are listed here.

To be added, updated, or removed from this list of potential substance use and abuse collaborators please fill out the our questionnaire and we will be sure to add your information to the webpage.

Browse by Unit

- B -

Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources

- C -

College of Education and Human Services

- D -

Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design

- E -

Eberly College of Arts and Sciences

- H -

Health Sciences Center

- J -

John Chambers College of Business & Economics

- R -

Reed College of Media

- S -

School of Medicine School of Nursing School of Pharmacy School of Public Health School of Social Work

Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources

WVU Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources Researchers
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests

Computer Science and Electrical Engineering

Li, Xin

xinli@mail.wvu.edu

Image processing, computer vision, biometrics, multimedia


↑ Back to Top

College of Education and Human Services

WVU College of Education and Human Services Researchers
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests

Learning Sciences and Human Development

Bernstein, Malayna

malayna.bernstein@mail.wvu.edu

Attitudes towards harm reduction, Women's perceptions of opioid use in their communities


Teacher Education, Teaching and Learning

Counseling, Rehab Counseling, and Counseling Psychology

Glenn, Margaret

margaret.glenn@mail.wvu.edu

Complementary and alternative healthcare practices, Substance use disorders


Learning Sciences and Human Development

Moilanen, Kristin

kristin.moilanen@mail.wvu.edu

Self-regulation, risk behaviors, and social relationships during the teen years


Counseling, Rehab Counseling & Counseling Psychology

Tack, Frankie

frankie.tack@mail.wvu.edu

Working with women, the LGBT population and those with co-occurring mental health challenges as well as providing training for community addictions professionals


Learning Sciences and Human Development Troilo, Jessica jessica.troilo@mail.wvu.edu How the opioid crisis has impacted public school teachers in West Virginia; Creating a teacher toolkit Perceptions of family members with varying statuses; divorced family dynamics; Father involvement

↑ Back to Top

Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design

WVU Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests






↑ Back to Top

Eberly College of Arts and Sciences

WVU Eberly College of Arts and Sciences Researchers
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests
Psychology Blank, Melissa mdblank@mail.wvu.edu  Co-use of opioids and tobacco Nicotine/tobacco addiction
Psychology Cherkasova, Mariya cherkaso@mail.ubc.ca Psychological and neural mechanisms underlying addiction and reward-directed behavior more generally
Forensic and Investigative Science Jackson, Glen glen.jackson@mail.wvu.edu Identification of fentanyl analogs in seized drugs Instrumental methods of analysis of seized drugs, including novel psychoactive substances and fentalogs
Communications Kang, Katie katie.kang@mail.wvu.edu  Reducing stigma surrounding the medication-assisted treatment for opioid addiction Unpacking the organizing process of stigmatized health organizations

Psychology

McNeil, Cheryl

cheryl.mcneil@mail.wvu.edu

Disruptive behavior disorders of children, assessment methods for behavior problems among children, and treatment outcomes


Psychology Patrick, Julie julie.patrick@mail.wvu.edu
Aging, grand parenting, health promotion, well-being, methodology
Psychology St.Peter, Claire Claire.stpeter@mail.wvu.edu Supports for children who have been exposed to substance use/abuse
Psychology Vonder Haar, Cole Cole.vonderhaar@mail.wvu.edu  Behavioral factors related to substance abuse  Traumatic brain injury

↑ Back to Top

Health Sciences Center

WVU Health Sciences Center Researchers
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests

Extension Service

Fitch, Cindy

cfitch@mail.wvu.edu

cfitch@wvu.edu


Maternal and child nutrititon, food security, health equity

↑ Back to Top

John Chambers College of Business & Economics

WVU John Chambers College of Business & Economics
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests






↑ Back to Top

Reed College of Media

WVU Reed College of Media Researchers
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests

Strategic Communication

Colistra, Rita

rita.colistra@mail.wvu.edu

Media sociology and theory from a public-interest perspective as well as community and audience engagement


↑ Back to Top

School of Medicine

WVU School of Medicine Researchers
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests

Behavior Medicine & Psychiatry

Berry, James

jberry@hsc.wvu.edu

Behavioral medicine and psychiatry, psychiatry, addiction psychiatry


Neurosurgery

Brandmeir, Nicholas

nicholas.brandmeir@hsc.wvu.edu

Postural instability in Parkinson disease, invasive neuro-electrophysiological monitoring, neurological basis of movement, evidence based medicine and research study design, neuro-stimulation


Medicine

Bryan, Nicole

nbryan2@hsc.wvu.edu

Infectious diseases


Neurosurgery Dekeseredy. Patricia patricia.dekeseredy@hsc.wvu.edu

Stigma, social medial and substance abuse treatment, policy Health care disparities 

Behavioral Medicine & Psychiatry

Elswick, Daniel

delswick@hsc.wvu.edu 

Psychiatry, behavioral medicine and psychiatry, cancer-oncology


Behavioral Medicine & Psychiatry

Feinberg, Judith

judith.feinberg@hsc.wvu.edu

Epidemiology of hep B & C, HIV among PWID; clinical trials in substance use disordered; Peer Recovery Coach. 

Prevention and treatment of injection drug use associated infections

MAT initiation in Emergency Departments, stigma, hep C cure in active IDU, hep C in pregnancy

Neuroscience

Finomore, Victor

victor.finomore@hsc.wvu.edu

Human performance, physiological measurement and assessment, cognitive neuroscience


Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute

Galster, Scott

scott.galster@hsc.wvu.edu

Neuroscience, biomedical engineering, human performance


Emergency Medicine

Goode, Christopher

cgoode@hsc.wvu.edu

Emergency medicine


Behavioral Medicine & Psychiatry

Goodykoontz, Toni

tgoodykoontz@hsc.wvu.edu

Behavioral medicine and psychiatry, child and adolescent behavioral medicine and psychiatry, psychiatry


Medicine/Infectious Diseases

Guilfoose, John

jguilfoose@hsc.wvu.edu

Infectious diseases


Family Medicine
Haggerty, Treah
Family medicine, pediatrics

Behavioral Medicine & Psychiatry

Haut, Marc

mhaut@hsc.wvu.edu

Human memory, episodic and working memory



Vice President for Health Sciences

Hodder, Sally

slhodder@hsc.wvu.edu

Infectious diseases, clinical trials


Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

Lander, Laura

llander@hsc.wvu.edu

Behavioral medicine 


Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

Law, Kari

klaw@hsc.wvu.edu

Behavioral medicine and psychiatry, forensic psychiatry, child and adolescent psychiatry


Obstetrics and Gynecology

Lemon, Kelly

kelly.lemon@hsc.wvu.edu

Centering COAT: A Collaborative, Multi-Disciplinary Approach to Peripartum Care for Women with Substance


Substance Use in Pregnancy

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Leonard, Cassie

celeonard@hsc.wvu.edu

General obstetrics and gynecology


Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

Mahoney, James

james.mahoney@hsc.wvu.edu

Neuropsychological sequelae related to opioid use disorder, neurocircuitry of substance us disorders


Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

Marshalek, Patrick

pmarshalek@hsc.wvu.edu

Behavioral medicine and psychiatry


Pediatrics

Pyles, Lee

lpyles@hsc.wvu.edu

Pediatric cardiology, pediatrics


Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute

Rezai, Ali

ali.rezai@hsc.wvu.edu

Neural circuitry, neurological sensors and monitors, and the development of surgical tools and new therapeutic strategies for neurological disorders


Microbiology, Immunology, and Cell Biology Robinson, Cory cory.robinson1@hsc,wvu,edu The impact of opioid exposure and neonatal abstinence syndrome on neonatal immunity and infection The impact of IL-27 on earlylife immunity and vaccination 

Anesthesiology

Rosen, David

rosend@wvumedicine.org

Pediatric cardiac anesthesia, pediatric critical care, anesthesiology


WVU Cancer Institute

Salkeni, Mohamad Adham

mosalkeni@hsc.wvu.edu

Breast cancer and phase 1 trials of novel agents in solid tumors


Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute
Sedney, Cara L.
csedney@hsc.wvu.edu Assessing effect of SB273 on opioid prescribing
Neurosurgery
Spine Surgery

Neuroscience

Setola, Vincent

vssetola@hsc.wvu.edu

Drug abuse, G protein signaling, human genetics, monoamine transporters, signal transduction, single nucleotide polymorphisms


Family Medicine

Shrader, Carl

shraderc@wvumedicine.org

Family medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics


Physiology and Pharmacology

Siderovski, David

dpsiderovski@hsc.wvu.edu

Regulators of G protein Signaling in health and disease


Occupational Therapy Whitney, Rondalyn Rondalynn.whitney@hsc.wvu.edu Create curriculum for health professionals to identify/treat SUD using an occupation-based approach Adverse childhood experiences, maternal stress, mother-child co-regulation, narrative medicine

Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

Winstanley, Erin

erin.winstanley@hsc.wvu.edu

Reducing the morbidity and mortality associated with the opioid epidemic and the use of technology to improve access and quality of behavioral health services


Obstetrics and Gynecology

Womeldorff, Penny

pwomeldorff@hsc.wvu.edu

WV healthy start/HAPI


Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

Workman, Elizabeth

easixworkman@hsc.wvu.edu

Telepsychiatry services


Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

Zheng, Wanhong

wzheng@hsc.wvu.edu

General psychiatry


↑ Back to Top

School of Nursing

WVU School of Nursing Researchers
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests

Family/Community Health Department

Buck, Katharine

jbuck@hsc.wvu.edu

Community based systems of care, Palliative care, Rural health disparities


Adult Health Department

Carpenter, Roger

rcarpenter@hsc.wvu.edu

Managing diabetes

Mothering wile in a SUD recovery program.
Add ons for the N100, N211, and N212; Online modules for opioids education.

Adult Health Department

Cotton, Sandra

scotton@hsc.wvu.edu

Internal medicine 


School of Nursing Deans Office

Dichiacchio, Toni

tdichiac@hsc.wvu.edu 


Health policy APRN scope of practice chronic disease management substance use disorder quality improvement leadership



Health Promotion & Wellness  

Hulsey, Tara

tmhulsey@hsc.wvu.edu

High risk perinatal outcomes such as preterm birth, low birth weight, and maternal pregnancy behaviors


Charleston Campus

Ritchie, Teresa

tritchie@hsc.wvu.edu

Adolescent obesity enhancing student learning in an online class


Family/Community Health Department

Walter, Suzy

swalters@hsc.wvu.edu

Pediatric neurology, pediatrics


↑ Back to Top

School of Pharmacy

WVU School of Pharmacy Researchers
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests

Clinical Pharmacy

Abate, Marie

mabate@hsc.wvu.edu

Maintain our forensics drug database; contains comprehensive data from all WV drug deaths

Database analyses, including drug combinations in deaths
Clinical Pharmacy Garofoli, Mark mkgarofoli@hsc.wvu.edu  Pain management, drug diversion/overdose, OTC pain medications, and substances of abuse

Basic Pharmaceutical Sciences

Lockman, Paul

prlockman@hsc.wvu.edu

Chemotherapy distribution into brain tumors and metastases, Nanoparticle drug delivery to brain, Effects of nicotine and or smoking on drug distribution


School of Pharmacy

Scott, Ginger

vscott@hsc.wvu.edu 

Outcomes research related to pharmacy services, assessment of post-graduate educational programming, issues related to hospital pharmacy, and economic evaluation of pharmacy services and pharmacotherapy


Rational Drug Therapy Program

Small, Stephen

stevesmall1006@gmail.com

Drug utilization review, medication error prevention, pharmacy benefit management, pharmaceutical care implementation, and medical information transfer between health care providers


↑ Back to Top

School of Public Health

WVU School of Public Health Researchers
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests

Health Policy, Management, and Leadership

Allen, Lindsay

lindsay.allen@hsc.wvu.edu

Health care access, Co-PI for West Virginia’s Medicaid 1115 Substance Use Disorder Waiver Evaluation


Health Services Research

Baus, Adam

abaus@hsc.wvu.edu

Application of health information technology in primary care settings, Quality care improvement, health informatics


Health Policy, Management, and Leadership

Bias, Thomas

tbias@hsc.wvu.edu

Public policy on health, Impact of health insurance policy on coverage and access to care, Understanding the impact of state and local economics and built environment policy on public health, and conducting community health needs assessments


Injury Control Center

Bossarte, Robert

rbossarte@hsc.wvu.edu

Development of large data systems in support of research and surveillance, identification of predictors of suicide risk, injury epidemiology and the intersections between community and individual-level factors.


Social and Behavioral Sciences

Coben, Jeffrey

jcoben@hsc.wvu.edu

Emergency medicine, Internal medicine


Epidemiology Dai, Zheng zd0001@hsc.wvu.edu

poly-substance involved overdose and comorbidities; WV drug-related deaths analysis WV medicated claim data analysis

Health Policy, Management, and Leadership

Davis, Stephen

smdavis@hsc.wvu.edu

Syringe access, medication assisted treatment, and peer recovery support services in rural areas           

Delivery of evidence-based programs via telehealth and policy barriers to implementation

Epidemiology

Gurka, Kelly

kgurka@hsc.wvu.edu

Opioid overdose, research 


Epidemiology Hendricks, Brian bmhendricks@hsc.wvu.edu
Use of spatial statistics to describe the spatial context of addiction and access to treatment services Infectious diseases, maternal and child health, Telehealth, technology based interventions

Epidemiology

Hulsey, Thomas

tchulsey@hsc.wvu.edu

Maternal and child health with a focus on pregnancy and newborns


Biostatistics

Huzurbazar, Snehalata

snehalata.huzurbazar@hsc.wvu.edu

Geosciences to bioinformatics, developing statistical methodology


Social and Behavioral Sciences

Jarrett, Traci

tjarrett@hsc.wvu.edu

Evaluation, community development and social action, community-engaged research, social capital development and access among young adults, health and social disparities in rural populations, systems and organizational development, social networking, and improvement science as it relates to health access and outcomes in primary care clinical settings


Health Research Center

Linn, Herbert

hlinn2@hsc.wvu.edu

Collaboration and communication


Occupational and Environmental Health Sciences

Martin, Christopher

cmartin@hsc.wvu.edu

Occupational medicine


Health Policy, Leadership, and Management  Moran, Garrett
Garrett.Moran@hsc.wvu.edu

Injury Control Center

Pollini, Robin

robin.pollini@hsc.wvu.edu

Mitigating the adverse health impacts of injection drug use, overdose, HIV, viral hepatitis, serious injection-related bacterial infections like endocarditis


Epidemiology

Rudisill, Toni

trudisill@hsc.wvu.edu

Impact of statewide naloxone distributions, feasibility of connecting OUD patients to care in ED Relationship between drug use and motor vehicle collisions; injury epidemiology; injury policy

Epidemiology

Smith, Gordon

gordon.smith@hsc.wvu.edu

Injury epidemiology research, occupational injury research


↑ Back to Top

School of Social Work

WVU School of Social Work Researchers
Department PI Name Email Substance Abuse Research Topics Other Research Interests

School of Social Work

Gamble, Jenifer

jenifer.gamble@mail.wvu.edu

Nonprofit leadership development, transitions, and administrative capacity building, Accelerating non-profit impact through social enterprise models, and Innovations in global education and gender equality


 School of Social Work LeCloux, Mary Mary.lecloux@mail.wvu.edu

Adolescent and young adult suicide prevention Health service disparities. Evidence-based social work practice

School of Social Work

Morrow, Deana

deana.morrow@mail.wvu.edu

Behavioral health workforce development, including SUDS and other behavioral health needs.

Older adults: social isolation, dementia, congregate care, wellness. Licensure. Social work education.

↑ Back to Top